function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
jk51141jk51141 

Create a New Opportunity Record based on Stage = "Closed/Won"

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to apex language.  I am trying to create a simple script that will create a new Opportunity (Renewal) if the Stage = "closed/won".  So, if an Opportunity Stage = "closed/won" create a new Opportunity, and duplicate any required fields and save the new record.  The trigger would also need to be dependent on Record Type because we have many other divisions using other Page Layouts or by Role. 

I have a hard time programming from scratch, especially on code that I have never written before.  Does anyone have examples of something like this?  Thanks

Message Edited by jk51141 on 05-06-2008 06:37 AM
ckempckemp
I would suggest a trigger that looks something like this:

Code:
trigger makeRenewalOpportunity on Opportunity (after update) {

// Go through each updated record    
    for (Integer i = 0; i < Trigger.new.size(); i++) {

// Make sure Opportunity has been changed to "Opportunity Won" (e.g. closed)
        if (Trigger.new[i].isWon == true && Trigger.old[i].isWon == false) {
            renewalOpp = Trigger.new[i].clone(false);
            // change the date here
            insert renewalOpp;
        }
    } 
}

jk51141jk51141
So when this trigger executes on Stage = "closed/won" can I store the Opportunity ID in a variable?  Therefore, I can then write a SOQL query to copy over my desired fields?  Basically Clone, but I need to increment the date to next year, and copy about 15 fields onto the new record from the just saved Opportunity. 

Message Edited by jk51141 on 05-06-2008 01:46 PM
ckempckemp