function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Will_1Will_1 

Compile Error on Bind - Newbie

I'm a newbie to Apex (and to Java for that matter).

I've created a custom object, Job, that has a lookup relationship to Opportunity.  I'm trying to create a method that will get the account id off of the opportunity (based on the opportunity id stored on job), and then get some default custom fields off of account to populate in the job record.  However, I can't even seem to get off of the ground with the method.  My idea is that I would call this method from a trigger in Job.

The following code gives me the following compile error:

Save error: Didn't understand relationship 'Job__c' in field path.  If you are attempting to use a custom relationship, be sure to append the '__r' after the custom relationship name. Please reference your WSDL or the describe call for the appropriate names. Staffing/src/unpackaged/classes JobCalculations.cls line 17 1210710065570 177

I have changed the reference to Job to be Job__r to no avail, and I have changed the reference to the field to be Job__c.Opportunity__r with no luck either.  Does anyone have any advice for a newbie?

Code:
public class JobCalculations {

public static void updateTargetMkups(Job__c myjob) { 

Opportunity o = [ SELECT Id, AccountId
       FROM Opportunity
       WHERE Job__c.opportunity__c = : Id];
 }
}

TehNrdTehNrd
Try this:

Code:

public static void updateTargetMkups(Job__c myjob) { 

Opportunity o = [ SELECT Id, AccountId FROM Opportunity WHERE OpportunityId = :myjob.opportunity__c];
 }
}

Will_1Will_1
TehNrd, Thank you very much!  Your code worked exactly, with the exception that I only need Id in the SQL, and not OpportunityId.  Thanks again!
Will678Will678

Now, the next problem for a newbie...