function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
EileenSFDCnewbEileenSFDCnewb 

"Newbie" assistance request

Greetings all,

I'm fairly new to SFDC customizations, so I'm wondering if someone might be able to help me !

I have two custom objects..  let's call them TableParent and TableChild.

TableParent has the following fields:  Primary1, Field2 and Field3.

TableChild has a a field called MyParent, which is simply a lookup against TableParent (and produces a selection list of the parent table's primary field, Primary1).

TableChild also has fields ParentField2 and ParentField3.  I would like these to auto-populate based on the selection of MyParent.

How to proceed?

Thanks to any and all assistance,
Eileen M,
newb extrodinaire
RMMCRMMC
I have found that "Autopopulate" questions throw SFDC support people into a tizzy.  The most popular answer I get is, "We can put you in touch with a "partner" that will charge you are large fee to help you out."
TykeTyke
I do similar things. What i do is to create my child records via an S-control on the parent. The Control is called something like 'New Child'.
The important thing that you have to do is educate your users into creating children using the control and not through pressing the 'New' button on the child tab.
The code behind the S-control looks something like:

<script language='JavaScript'>

function redirect() {
 parent.frames.location.replace("/800/e?CF00N40000001U29x={!Parent_Field1}&CF00N40000001UAbc={!Parent_Field2}")
}

redirect();

</script>
The /800 is the id of your child edit page. You should be able to see this in the address bar at the top of your browser when you are inputing details of a new child.
The CF00N40000001U... are the names of the form fields you wish populating in the child edit page. If you use firefox then you can see these by using 'Tools' -> 'Page Info'