function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
mshinnmshinn 

Checkbox Validation

I am new to salesforce (using for 4 months now) and I need to add my first validation code.  I have not done this as of yet and I do not understand the coding language. 

I am looking for a code which will require an entry into another field on the same object when a different field is checked (it's a checkbox field).  I have two of these instances and would like the code rather simple.  For example:

If the Returned to Manufacturer (Field: Returnmfg; API name: Returnmfg_c) field is check, then I want to require the entry of a Return Authorization number in the additional custom field provided (Field: RMA; API name: RMA_c).  Also, when the Received back from Manufacturer field is checked, then I want to require a date entered into the custom field provided.

I've already created the fields.

Thank you!
HerosHeros
Try something like the following:

Number has to be filled in if checkbox is checked

AND( checkbox__c , ISNULL( Number__c ))
-this is saying that checkbox is checked then the number field cannot be blank.
mshinnmshinn
I entered the code, inputing my field names:

AND( Returnmfg__c , ISNULL( RMA__c))

and it said that there were no syntax errors, but it does not require me to fill in the field before saving.
Harry JamesHarry James

If RMA is a text field, then the expression ISNULL(RMA_c) will evaluate as false.  Text fields are never null.  Use the LEN function with a text field, as in:

AND( Returnmfg__c , LEN( RMA__c) = 0)

mshinnmshinn
Excellent!  Thank you so much!
World TechWorld Tech