function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
miss vmiss v 

"IF" Formula Field not calculating

I'm a little new at this, but I created a formula field that is supposed to run one forumla if the Account=X, and then run another (similar) formula if the Account<>X.  I'm not getting syntax errors, but the actual field doesn't calculate any differently when I add it to the report. 

Basically, I'm trying to subsitute "CPC_ING_TRM_LIFE_25_c" (instead of ING_c) when the Account name is CPC.  However, it's calculating the second formula with the ING_c for all Account names (including CPC).  Can anyone tell me why it's not working?   

IF( Account__c="CPC", AIG__c + AUL__c + BM__c + CPC_ING_TRM_LIFE_25__c + Htfd__c + Other__c + ReliStnd__c + UNUM__c, AIG__c + AUL__c + BM__c + Htfd__c + Other__c + ReliStnd__c + UNUM__c+ ING__c)
smoodysmoody
From the looks of your formula, you only have the IF portion without a THEN statement. You should add a THEN statement to direct the formula if the IF statement is not true.

Example:
IF( Account__c = "CPC", Calculation if true, Calulation if false)

Your current formula looks like:  IF( Account__c = "CPC", Calculation if true)

Harry JamesHarry James

smoody -  The OP's situation is a bit more complicated - the field apparently is in a custom object with master-detail relationship to the Account object.  The only suggestion I could come up with is pretty ugly.  Any other thoughts?

Take a look at the last 6 posts on this thread:

http://community.salesforce.com/sforce/board/message?board.id=custom_formula&message.id=557

miss vmiss v