function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Adnan81Adnan81 

Formula field

I am new to formula fields. Need some assistance

I have a Picklist field "Service Purchased" and "Number of Lines ported" with 1-10.

Trying to create a formula field which will determine if it is a "Ported", "Non-Ported" or "Non-OV" order based off of these two fields.

If service purchased does not contains "OV" say "Non-OV" and If Number of Lines ported Not equal to 0 say "Ported" otherwise say "Non-Ported"?

I have this so far, but it needs help!!!!!

IF(
AND(

NOT(CONTAINS(TEXT(Services_Purchased__c) , "OV",""))),
"Non OV",

( Number_Lines_Ported__c   <> 0,"Ported", "Non-Ported")

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
thomastthomast

As an aside - did you consider making the "Number of lines ported" field a number, and enforcing the 0-10 values with validation rules, field help, and training? It seems like that would make your life a lot easier in the long run, especially if you want to do any calculations in reports or elsewhere on # of lines ported over multiple records. Search for "How to do arithmetic on picklist numbers?" in Help & Training to see what you're up against if you need to calculate with this field. Short version - picklist values are text, not numbers, and cannot have arithmetic comparison or operation done on them.

Picklist values are different in formulas than other data types - you can only use CASE and ISPICKVAL on them. So your formula should be:

IF(

NOT(ISPICKVAL(Services_Purchased__c , "OV")), "Non OV",

IF(ISPICKVAL(Number_Lines_Ported__c, "0"),"Non-Ported","Ported")

)