function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
thuskerthusker 

OK, here's another one . . . can this be done?

Management wants to assign a "weighted amount" to Opportunities based on the Amount and the Probablility %.  Example: if prob % = 70% weighted Amount = Amount * 25%, if prob % = 80 weighted Amount = Amount * 30% etc.  Would there be a way to have a formula field in Opportnities that would make that calculation against Amount based on what the Prob % is?  If yes, any suggestions on how to create it?

Again, I am not a developer or an Excel wizard unfortunately . . . but I know there are some folks out there who probably do this kind of stuff in their sleep.  Any help would be welcomed!

Thanks!
Jeff TalbotJeff Talbot
Yes, you can write a formula to calc that, but it would be in a custom field, not in the standard field . However, before we go down that road, I first have to ask.... Have you considered changing the default probability percentages that are associated with the sales stages? Or do you need those default percentages for something else?
thuskerthusker

Weird question, I know.  Figured we would need a separate formula field for "Weighted Amount" or something along those lines.

Here's the explanation: