function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
mengelmengel 

Need help with Update Trigger / test case

I have a custom object called Branch.
My Account and Opportunity both have a lookup field to this object.

I need to ensure that the Opportunity Branch always contains the same value in the Account Branch if the opportunity is edited - I know this is very simple but i'm hitting a mental roadblock.  

My trigger below does not appear to be firing when I do an edit and save on the Opportunity record.

Also any help with setting up the test case for this would also be helpful.

I am new to this and did figure out how to retreive the code using Ant and Eclipse from the sandbox - but I know it will fail on deploy when I try to put it to production without a test case.   I am not particullary savy when it comes to java script.

Any input would be appreciated.
trigger OppBranchEqualAccBranch_Update on Opportunity (before update) {
  if (System.Trigger.isUpdate) {
         for(Opportunity oppnew :[select Id, Branch__c, Account.ID, Account.Branch__c from Opportunity where Id in:Trigger.new])
       {
             if(oppnew.Account.Branch__c == null) 
              oppnew.Branch__c = null;
             else                 
              oppnew.Branch__c = oppnew.Account.Branch__c;
              // Update oppnew;
        }       
    }
}
WhyserWhyser
The problem with is with your select statement.

Instead of using a select statement to return all the Opportunities that are going to be updated, you should just write

Code:
for ( Opportunity oppnew: Trigger.new )

If you plan on doing select statements where you return Ids, you would write it like this:

Code:
select Id, Branch__c, Account.ID, Account.Branch__c from Opportunity where Id in :Trigger.newMap.keySet()