function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
bmartinez76bmartinez76 

Validation help-VLookup

Hello, I've done quite a few validation rules, but I'm no expert and I'm currently stumped.  In our CASE object we have a custom picklist field which has analyst names.  The field is changed to the analyst that the case is being assigned to.  so lets say a issue is reported to our support center. A case is created by the helpdesk then they select the person from the L3 Analyst field to escalate the issue to.  The level 1 analyst saves the record and clicks on change owner to assign to the analyst selected for L3 .  This cause problems as sometimes the L3 analyst is on vacation or out sick.  I'm trying to create validation that if L3_Analyst_Assigned__c is equal to "John Doe" it checks a custom object i created to store a check box named John Doe.  If the check box is true then I want the validation rule to go off and tell the level 1 analyst that the person they are trying to assign the case to is not available.

I saw the VLOOKUP feature but to be honest with you I have read just about every post but i can't get it to work.  Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.  There might be a different way to accomplish my goal, but so far this is what I have been able to come up with:

AND(ISPICKVAL( L3_Analyst_Assigned__c , "John Doe"),

VLOOKUP( $ObjectType.Support_Analyst_Availability__c.Fields.John_Doe__c , $ObjectType.Support_Analyst_Availability__c.Fields.Name , ***not sure what to put here*** ))

John_Doe__c in the support analyst object is a checkbox.

Message Edited by bmartinez76 on 06-26-2008 02:00 PM
bmartinez76bmartinez76