function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SarisanSarisan 

Max SOAP message size and other integration related questions

Hi,

I am trying to integrate one of our applications with SalesForce. I am quite new with SaleForce and I have basic knowledge of Apex and Visualforce, so please have mercy.

My preference would be to push data to our application (either REST/SOAP). I've learned that REST has a limit of 100kB on message body. Here are my questions:

1) Is there similar limitation on SOAP?
2) What other options are there to integrate with external applications. I understand I could use SF WS API and pull data when we need. What discourages me is 2,000 record limit. There is instance when we would need to send 10,000 records and I want to keep it sweet and simple for now. I want to keep our system API agnostic from SF.
3) Is it possible to open TCP/IP connection from Apex?

Any suggestions are welcome. I searched Apex documentation but couldn't find anything about SOAP size limit (there was something about 52MB but that was for incoming SOAP from external system, I guess).

Thanks,

Tomas
Drew1815Drew1815
The current limitation on message size is within Apex when making callouts (external web service call) and as you noted, it is 100 kb limit on both the request and response. This is for both HTTP/REST and SOAP transactions through Apex.

The Force.com Web Service API doesn't have the same limits. You mention a concern over a 2,000 record limit. I am assuming you are referring to the queryResult limit of a SOQL query. That is only a limit per batch. But you can easily get the next 2,000 records and so on for any query that returns thousands of records. See documentation on SOQL and API Query here: http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/api/index_Left.htm#StartTopic=Content/sforce_api_calls_query.htm