function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
drew5101drew5101 

Apex book recommendation

I have very little background in programming and therefore find the tutorials and documentation available from force.com completely inadequate for my Apex learning needs.

It is clearly written for those that have a bit of programming knowledge.  I am looking for a step by step "Apex for dummies", or something that can walk me through all of the available components one by one.  I find all the documentation on methods and variables interesting, but I don't know what apex:actionsupport is, or what apex:outputlink is, etc...  AndI have not found anything that lists them one by one with examples, perhaps I have not looking in the right place...

In searching, there are a number of books for Apex in relation to Oracle.  Is this the same thing?  Can I use one of those books?

Thanks

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
caroline_sfdccaroline_sfdc

Hi there,

I understand how frustrating it can be to try and learn a new technology and not find material at the right level for your needs.

From what you mention in your email, it sounds like you're looking for more information on Visualforce, and not necessarily Apex. Visualforce is a technology similar to HTML where you use tags to create new user interfaces. Apex, on the other hand, is a programming language based on Java that allows you to add custom logic to your applications. The things you mentioned, <apex:outputLink> and <apex:actionSupport> are both Visualforce tags. Although you can build sophisticated Visualforce pages that use Apex to add logic, it's also possible to build a lot of functionality into a Visualforce page without writing any Apex at all. As a result, I'd suggest you start learning by focusing on Visualforce before tackling Apex.