function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
DougWDDougWD 

Activity Completed Apex Trigger

Hi, I am new to apex trigger programming, though a long-time programmer.

I would like to track the date and time of day when tasks are marked "Completed". This functionality is not captured by Due Date or Date of Last Activity.

trigger DateCompleted on Task ( before insert, before update )
{
try
{
// task.DateCompleted = todaysDate();
// task.TimeCompleted = now;
}
catch ( Exception ex )
{
}
}

I'd appreciate your help on this - also (and related), I looked around for some time, but could not find a resource with a bunch of example Apex triggers - this would be really helpful.
Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
DougWDDougWD
In case anyone else is trying to achieve this, here is the code that worked:
{
   Task[] checkTasks = Trigger.new;
   for(Task t : checkTasks){
      if(t.DateCompleted__c == NULL && t.Status=='Completed'){
         t.DateCompleted__c = System.today();
         t.DateTimeCompleted__c = System.now();
      }
   }
}
@isTest
private class testDCTrigger{

public static testmethod void testme(){
        Account acc = new account(name = 'TestCoverage');
        insert acc;
        Task testtask = new task(whatID = acc.id, subject = 'Task A.1', status = 'Not Started', priority = 'Normal');

// Task t = new Task(name='TestTask');
         String taskid;
         testtask.status='Completed';
         try{
            insert testtask;
            taskid=testtask.id;
         }catch(DMLException e){
            system.assert(false,'Error Inserting Test Task:'+e.getDMLMessage(0));
         }
         Task checktesttask = [select id,Status,DateCompleted__c,DateTimeCompleted__c from Task where id=:taskid];
         system.assertequals('Completed',checktesttask.Status); //verify task still marked completed