function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
OnCloud9OnCloud9 

Snapshot of current opportunity stage

Folks-

Have a quick question.  And hopefully you have a quick solution.

I have a master detail relationship between Opportunity (master) and Opportunity Contacts (child).

What I'd like to do is take a "snapshot" of the current opportunity stage when a certain Opportunity Contacts picklist value = "ABCD".

I can do a roll-up summary of the "last modified date" and stamp that on the opportunity.  Then I created this formula field on the opportunity to see if A) the date is populated and B) stamp the current opportunity stage.

IF(NOT(ISNULL( Test_roll_up__c )), text(StageName),"")

However, after the fact, if I change the stage, the field above ^^ also changes.  I tried to stop this via validation rule but it stopped the opportunity from saving all together.

Now I'm stuck and need your help.  How can I "stamp" the current stage and never allow it to be changed?  Any ideas/thoughts are appreciated.

Thank you-

Andy BoettcherAndy Boettcher

My gut reaction is "hey!  Workflow initiated Field Update!".  However - cross object Workflow isn't coming out until Spring...so don't base your current decision on that.

For right now - if you use a Formula field, that value is dynamic and will change.  If you need a true historical "snapshot" of data, you'll have to head to an APEX trigger to save the data off to a custom field.

If you need help framing it up, let me know.

-Andy

OnCloud9OnCloud9
Hey Andy,
Thanks for the reply.  I wish they had full cross object workflow live already =)
As far as the apex is concerned, I'm a newbie but trying to learn.  Can you please help me setup a trigger that'll accomplish this?