function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
TizzzTizzz 

Creating a New Contact from Custom Case Fields

I'm trying to work out a way to import the values from custom fields in a case to the appropriate fields in a new contact record.

My company processes requests for new employees through Salesforce.  A case is opened for the technology department to create user accounts and generate passwords etc... Part of the setup includes creating a contact record in Salesforce. In trying to streamline the process I have created a section in the Case Record Type that is essentially a mirror of the basic Contact Detail information (First/Last Name, Dept., Phone)

I've created a custom link to map the fields accordingly but it's not working.  I am new to this aspect of Salesforce and I'm not sure what it is I've done wrong. 

Here's an example of the formula I'm using:
/003/e?={!Case.First_Name__c}&00N70000002DLMw={!Contact.FirstName}

The way I understand this is that I am opening a new Contact Record and placing the value from the Case "first name" field into the first name field of the contact.  While the new contact record opens the data from case field is not populating. 

I've tried to find more information in the forums here and elsewhere on the internet but I've not found anything that's been very helpful. Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated.
peterapetera
Hi Tizzz,

Close but no cigar. The formula you need is:

Code:
/003/e?name_lastcon2={!Case.YOUR_CUSTOM_FIELD1}&name_firstcon2={!Case.YOUR_CUSTOM_FIELD2}