function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
mhson1978mhson1978 

Trigger to catch duplicate record and process the new data

Hello Everyone. I am very new to SalesForce development and would like to ask some questions regarding Triggers.

My company has a need to capture duplicate leads and process them by merging information.

After reading through documentation, I thought trigger would be the best way to do this.

To test the process, i created a custom object and wrote "before insert" trigger against it.

This trigger essentially searches for record based on email address and if record exists, it updates the visit count. However, I failed on this matter since after it processes the new record, it STILL inserts the duplicate record.

I've tried to use both before insert, after insert events.

My thought was, before insert, merge the record and after insert, delete the newly created record.

This also failed since I can NOT perform DML against trigger.new records.

Has anyone faced this type of issue before and if so, how did you resolve this?

Any assistance would be greatly appriciated.

thank you. 

jeffdonthemicjeffdonthemic

I'm not exactly sure if this fits your business case, but open the Apex docs (link) and search for "addError". Using addError() marks a record with a custom error message and prevents any DML operation from occurring.

You might also want to look at the difference between DML statements and DML database method for exception handling.

Good luck

Vote for my Idea: Enhanced Apex Testing Functionality (JUnit) Link

Jeff Douglas
Informa Plc
http://blog.jeffdouglas.com

dev_jhdev_jh

Hi there,

It might be worth taking a look for existing tools in the Apexchange for merging leads. I am not sure a trigger is the best way to achieve this...