function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Toasty02Toasty02 

Where is the value of a selectList stored?

Hello,

I'm new to this Apex stuff, so I'm hoping someone will be able to help me out.  I have an Apex page with a selectList, and I'd like to take the value that the use selects and do something with it on the page.  The code I have doesn't appear to be working, and I can't figure out why.

This is my controller class:

public class SimplePrintLabelsController {
public String selectedLabelTemplateName {get; set;}
public List<selectOption> labelTemplateList {
    get {
        List<selectOption> labelTemplateOptions = new List<selectOption>();
        labelTemplateOptions.add(new selectOption('', '--Select a label template--'));

for (Label_Template__c lt : [select name from Label_Template__c order by name]) {
            labelTemplateOptions.add(new selectOption(lt.name, lt.name));
        }

return labelTemplateOptions;   
    }
    set;
}
}

And here is the Apex page code:

<apex:page controller="SimplePrintLabelsController">
  <script type="text/javascript">
      function showAlert() {
          alert("You selected " + "{!selectedLabelTemplateName}");
      }
  </script>  
  <apex:form >
      <apex:pageBlock >
          <apex:outputLabel value="Label template: "/>
          <apex:selectList id="labelTemplates" value="{!selectedLabelTemplateName}" size="1" onChange="showAlert()">
              <apex:selectOptions value="{!labelTemplateList}"/>
          </apex:selectList>
      </apex:pageBlock>
      <apex:pageBlock >
          <apex:outputLabel value="You selected: {!selectedLabelTemplateName}"/>
      </apex:pageBlock>
  </apex:form>
</apex:page>