function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
ron_reedron_reed 

Opportunity Object - counting number of attached Products that meet a certain criteria

I'm fairly new to apex development and trying to write my first trigger.  I would like to count the number of products that fit a certain criteria and enter that into an Opportunity field.  I have a formula field called Proprietary_Count on the OpportunityLineItem object that returns either a 1 or 0 if the attached Product meets a criteria (Product_Type = "Proprietary") and I'm trying to count those up and insert that in the Opportunity field also called Proprietary_Count.  I can get it to work on a single update, but I know the way I'm doing it won't work on a bulk update.  Any ideas would be much appreciated!

trigger countProprietaryProjectsTrigger on OpportunityLineItem (after insert) { If (trigger.isinsert) { List<Id> opptyIds = new List<Id>{}; integer prodProps = 0; for(OpportunityLineItem oli: Trigger.new){ String OpportunityId = (String)oli.OpportunityId; if(oli.Approval_Proprietary_Count__C==1){ opptyIds.add(OpportunityId); prodProps = prodProps + 1; } } Opportunity[] opptysToUpdate = [select id, name, Approval_Proprietary_Count__C from Opportunity where Id IN :opptyIds]; for(Opportunity o: opptysToUpdate){ if (o.Approval_Proprietary_Count__C == null) { o.Approval_Proprietary_Count__C = 0; } o.Approval_Proprietary_Count__C = o.Approval_Proprietary_Count__C + prodProps;//just as an example } //Perform the update in a batch for al records update opptysToUpdate; } }

Message Edited by ron_reed on 02-02-2009 12:25 PM
SovaneSovane

Hi Ron_Reed,

I would suggest you go for a standard solution as you requirements allow it : RollupSummary fields will do the trick.

Message Edited by Sovane on 02-03-2009 12:21 AM
ron_reedron_reed

Hi Sovane,