function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BCSScottBCSScott 

Good Code vs. Bad Code

I am new to Apex and have just finished building my first trigger. Before I set up the test code I wanted to make sure that I wasn't going to submit code that was efficient or poorly written. According to an article I read, it is considered poor coding to include a SOQL query within a For loop. I am posting my code in this message and would really appreciate any advice on how to clean up my code so that it works as efficiently as possible.

I have highlighted the section I think might be poorly written in red.

trigger CreateLGAEvent on LGA__c (after insert, after update){

Map<String, LGA__c> lgaMap = new Map<String, LGA__c>();

List<Event> lgaEvents = new List<Event>();

if(trigger.isinsert)

for (LGA__c lga : System.Trigger.new){ 

Event event = new Event(

StartDateTime = lga.LGA_Start_DateTime__c ,

EndDateTime = lga.LGA_End_Date_Time__c,

Subject = 'LGA Scheduled',

IsRecurrence = FALSE,

Description = lga.Event_Description__c, 

Location = lga.Event_Subjects__c, 

Event_ID__c = lga.Event_ID__c,

IsAllDayEvent = False); 

lgaEvents.add(event);

insert lgaEvents;

}

else

for (LGA__c lga : System.Trigger.New) {

Event event = [Select id, Event_ID__c from Event where Event_ID__c = :lga.Event_ID__c];

event.StartDateTime = lga.LGA_Start_DateTime__c;

event.EndDateTime = lga.LGA_End_Date_Time__c;

event.Subject = 'LGA Scheduled'; 

event.Description = lga.Event_Description__c; 

event.Location = lga.Event_Subjects__c; 

lgaEvents.add(event);

update lgaEvents;

}

}

Thanks in advance.

JVH

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
ThomasTTThomasTT

Ok, you have 3 things to improve your code/post.

1. Use code box to post your code