function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
paddingtonpaddington 

Basic test not working as expected

Hi there,

I'm new to this coding lark and am having an issue with a test that is driving me up the wall.

I have a basic trigger firing off the insertion of a Contact:

trigger ContactInsert on Contact (after insert){ PopulateNotificationContact.updateAccount(Trigger.new); }

This calls a class that populates a custom contact lookup on the Account called Notification_Contact__c with the ID of the inserted contact, if Notification_Contact__c is null:

public with sharing class PopulateNotificationContact { public static void updateAccount(Contact[] cons){ for(Contact c:cons){ string s=c.AccountId; Account a=[select Id, Notification_Contact__c from Account where Id=:s]; if(a.Notification_Contact__c==null){ a.Notification_Contact__c=c.Id; update a; } } } }

This all works fine, which is great, although I suspect that I'm not writing very good code. Whatever, I want to get it into live, so have written the following test class, which is where the problem is:

public class TEST_PopulateNotificationContact{ static testMethod void testInitialEnquiry(){ Account a = new Account(name = 'Acme'); insert a; //Assert that Notification_Contact__c is null System.assertEquals(a.Notification_Contact__c,null); // Inserting the record automatically assigns a value to its ID field Contact c = new Contact(LastName = 'Coyote'); c.accountId = a.Id; // The new contact now points at the new account insert c; //Inserting the contact fires the InitialEnquiryTrue trigger, which should populate //the Notification_Contact__c field System.assertEquals(a.Notification_Contact__r.Id,c.Id,'IDs not the same.'); } }