function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SalesforceJimSalesforceJim 

Accessing string values from sObject field objects

Hi, I am relatively new to Apex and have a query regaring accessing string values from and sObject.

I am trying to return all of the records in a custom object which essentially has two picklist fields Office and RLT and place the results into a map.

To do this I am using a for loop to iterate through the records in my custom sObject.

The problem I have is how to return the field Object for each iteration of the for loop and how to get that object as a string, so I can put it into the map.

Also my use of the DescribeFieldResult is invalid.

My code is as follows: 

for (Offices__c O : [SELECT Office__c, RLT__c FROM Offices__c]) {

Schema.DescribeFieldResult fOffice = Offices_c.Office_c.getDescribe();

String sOffice;

sOffice = fOffice.getDefaultValue();

Schema.DescribeFieldResult fRLT = Offices_c.RLT_c.getDescribe();

String sRLT;

sRLT = fRLT.getDefaultValue();

OfficeRLTMapping.put(sOffice,sRLT);

}

Thanks

Jim

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
werewolfwerewolf

What you're doing there is getting the exact same value repeatedly, namely the default value of the picklists.  What you need to do is much simpler:

OfficeRLTMapping.put(O.Office.__c,O.RLT__c);

}

If you want to get another field, just add it to your query (right after the SELECT), and then you can reference it by O.<fieldname>.  I reference it by O because you declare it that way in your for loop:

for (Offices__c O : [SELECT Office__c, RLT__c FROM Offices__c])

All Answers

werewolfwerewolf

What you're doing there is getting the exact same value repeatedly, namely the default value of the picklists.  What you need to do is much simpler:

OfficeRLTMapping.put(O.Office.__c,O.RLT__c);

}