function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
mallorywoodmallorywood 

Formula to populate a date

Hello,

I'd like to create a formula for a new custom field titled "Launch Date." This formula must populate a date that is exactly 21 weeks past a date I am manually entering into a different custom field titled "Due Date."

For example: I enter 5/22/12 as the Due Date and my Launch Date field automatically fills in with 10/16/12.

I've never worked with Salesforce formulas before and will appreciate any help given.

Best,

Mallory

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
johnc82johnc82

I don't think you have Launch Date setup as a Formula field.  You may have it setup as a Data field, that's why you see default value.

You need the field type as Formula, then select Date as the Formula Return Type.

You can't change that field to a formula field either.  You'll need to delete it and create a new field to get it.

All Answers

johnc82johnc82

Try this.

Due Date__c + (7*21)

mallorywoodmallorywood

John, I imagine that would work. However, I am getting an error message: Due_Date_c may not be used in this type of formula.

:smileysad:

johnc82johnc82

What is the API name of the Due Date field you're wanting to use? If the label is Due Date, try Due_Date__c.  That's 2 underscores between Date and c.

mallorywoodmallorywood

Yes, same error when I use two underscores. I think I mistyped in my last message.

When I show the formula editor, the custom field "Due Date" isn't even an option. That might be why that error message is generated.

johnc82johnc82