function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
MattyDHLMattyDHL 

Trigger firing on one field update.

Hi,

I am still new to coding triggers and coding in general but I have a problem that I am struggling to get around.

The trigger I currently have fires after update and transfers a completed field to another objects field. 

The problem is this happens after every Account update, I need this only to happen after the one field (IF_SAP__c) has changed, and if that field hasn't changed then do not do the update.

This my current code, I understand I can use the Trigger.old, but I dont know how to compare the Trigger.old to the Trigger.new. Can some one please point me in the right direction.

Many Thanks

Matt

trigger UpdateToAccSetupForm on Account (after update) { Map<String, String> SetupFormMap = new Map<String, String>(); for (Account acc : System.Trigger.new){ if (acc.IF_SAP__c != null){ SetupFormMap.put(acc.ID, acc.IF_SAP__c); } else{ } } List<AccountSetupForm__c> recordsforupdates = new list<AccountSetupForm__c>(); for (AccountSetupForm__c aacc :[Select Id, AccountName__c, SAP_Number__c from AccountSetupForm__c where AccountName__c IN : SetupFormMap.keySet()] ){ if (SetupFormMap.containsKey(aacc.AccountName__c)) { aacc.SAP_Number__c = SetupFormMap.get(aacc.AccountName__c); recordsforupdates.add(aacc); } } update recordsforupdates; }

PragadheeshwariPragadheeshwari

Hai,

you can compare

if( trigger.old[0].IF_SAP__c != acc.IF_SAP__c)

{

/ / Do wat you want

}

MattyDHLMattyDHL

Hi,

Thanks for the code, can this be ran on before update and after update?

Kind Regards

Matt

ColinKenworthy1ColinKenworthy1

for(Integer i=0 ; i<Trigger.new.size() ; i++) {
if(trigger.old[i].IF_SAP__c <> trigger.new[i].IF_SAP__c) {

can be before update and after update

Message Edited by ColinKenworthy1 on 11-06-2009 05:33 PM