function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
deanodeano 

Nested SOQL Queries. From Child, up to parent, and back down to other objects children

Hello, i'm new to salesforce/apex/soql, so any help would be muchly appreciated!

Scenario:

A custom object Program__c has  child events which represent program sessions. The program also has children of another custom object Participant__c that represents participants of the program. Participant__c is a junction object that looks up to the program and a contact.

I need to select out all events that are occuring in 3 days, and send out an email to all participants of the events program reminding them the event is up coming.

The only solution I could work out for this was to use cronkit (appexchange app) to poll for all relevent events at least daily, and in the cronkit trigger send emails using apex to the participants of the event.

I have all of this working. With the following code (I've left out irrelevent parts) which resides inside a cronkit trigger:

DateTime nowPlusThreeDays = Datetime.newInstance(Datetime.now().date(), Datetime.now().time()).addDays(3);

List<Event> events = [
     SELECT e.Description, e.Id, e.Location, e.WhatId, e.Subject, e.IsAllDayEvent, e.ActivityDateTime, e.EndDateTime, What.Id
     FROM Event e
     WHERE
      e.ActivityDateTime >= :dateTime.newInstance(nowPlusThreeDays.Year(),nowPlusThreeDays.month(),nowPlusThreeDays.day()) AND
      e.ActivityDateTime < :dateTime.newInstance(nowPlusThreeDays.date().Year(),nowPlusThreeDays.month(),nowPlusThreeDays.day(),23,59,59) AND
      e.RecordType.Name = 'Program Session' AND
      e.Participant_Reminder_Email_Sent__c = False
     LIMIT 100
    ];

EmailTemplate template = [SELECT ID FROM EmailTemplate WHERE (name = 'Program Participant Reminder') LIMIT 1];

for(Event event:events){