function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
PhryPhry 

Can a Workflow Rule be used to auto fill a text field?

Hello, I'm trying to determine if a Workflow rule can be setup along with a field update to auto fill a simple text template into the Internal Comments text field when a user opens a new Case. For example some generic text such as First Name:, Last Name, Phone Number, etc to go into every new case Internal Comments field. This will be used as a template by the user to fill the proper info into this field.  If this is possible to do with a Workflow for the Internal Comments field I would be most appreciative for any info on how write the formula to do so. I'm new to working with Workflow Rules.   Thanks Mike

Here's an example of the formatting for the text template needed to be in the Internal comments field;

Name:

Address:

Primary Contact#:

Secondary Contact#:

Availability:

chris.noechris.noe

Mike, typically this could be done with a workflow field update.  However, it does not appear that the Internal Comments field from the Case object is available as a field which can be updated using the standard workflow field update functionality.

PhryPhry

I did notice listed under Cases Fields section the Internal Comments field name is listed as Comments. Would i be able to use Comments for the field update to get the text to fill into Internal Comments? IF so what would i use for a formula?  Thanks again

chris.noechris.noe

Mike,

Within your field update, select "Use a formula to set the new value" and then enter the following in the formula editor:

"Name:" & BR() & "Address:" & BR() & "Primary Contact#:" & BR() & "Secondary Contact#:" & BR() & "Availability:"

This will create a list of the text you specified in your original post with a line break at the end of each line.

PhryPhry