function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
susheel1susheel1 

Need help to write a trigger to auto populate fields

Need help to write a trigger to pre-populate 3 look fields. 2 of these fields come from the contacts and 1 is coming from the user. We need to deploy this by this Friday. Your help would be appreciated. I am new to programming
Message Edited by susheel1 on 08-19-2009 01:03 PM
Caleb_SidelCaleb_Sidel

A before insert trigger will let you update the record with your pre-populated values, but without knowing how the objects are related there's no easy code snippet.

Note that a trigger operates after the user clicks save so it's not so much a "pre-population" as a default value. To pre-populate data you'll have to hack the URL or use a visualforce page. 

Here's a before trigger 

trigger OpportunityTrigger on Opportunity (before insert) {

for(Opportunity oppty : Trigger.new) {

oppty.field1 = value;

oppty.field2 = value;

oppty.field3 = value; 

}

Good luck,

Caleb 

susheel1susheel1

Hi Caleb,

Thanks for your help.

As you said I want the trigger to populate the field after the user clicks on the save button. I have 4 Fields. Plant,  Quality Lead (User), Plant Manager and ISC Director (both Contacts).  The Plant Manager and ISC Director need to receive email alerts.

Depending upon the plant I select the other 3 fields, which are lookup fields should be populated and I have the mapping for all the plants

for a Plant A, I know that Quality Lead should be X , Plant Manager should be Y and ISC Director should be Z

Now how do I start, I am new to this

Susheel

CaptainObviousCaptainObvious

I'm fairly new to Apex & Triggers myself, but here's the approach I would take: