function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
ethanoneethanone 

need bulk help

As a newbie, I'm struggling to refactor this trigger code to work in bulk (works fine in a non-bulk test case). The trigger is supposed to update the AccountId field on the opportunity object based on information from a related field. 

trigger UpdateOppAccountName on Opportunity (before update) {

for(Opportunity o : trigger.new){

Account_Property_Link__c oldPIDOwner = [SELECT Account__c FROM Account_Property_Link__c WHERE Property__c = :opp.Preceding_Property__c];

opp.AccountId = oldPIDOwner.Account__c;

}

I think I need to have a list of Opportunities updated with a list of Account_Property_Link__c objects, but I just can't seem to get the syntax right.  Can someone give me a hand? 

Thanks in advance.

SFDCDev7SFDCDev7

Hi,

Check the below link . It will help you.

http://sfdc.arrowpointe.com/2008/09/13/bulkifying-a-trigger-an-example/

-AJ

jeffdonthemic2jeffdonthemic2

You can also try: Writing Bulk Triggers For Salesforce.com

Jeff Douglas

Appirio, Inc.

http://blog.salesforce.com 

jeffdonthemic2jeffdonthemic2

You can also try: Writing Bulk Triggers For Salesforce.com

Jeff Douglas

Appirio, Inc.

http://blog.jeffdouglas.com 

ethanoneethanone

Thanks for the posts.  I think my problem might be more with a fundamental understanding of how a map collection works.  In the post's example here:

trigger AddOwnerColor on Account (before insert, before update) {

// create a set of all the unique ownerIds

Set<Id> ownerIds = new Set<Id>();

for (Account a : Trigger.new)

ownerIds.add(a.OwnerId);

// query for all the User records for the unique userIds in the records

// create a map for a lookup / hash table for the user info

Map<Id, User> owners = new Map<Id, User>([Select Favorite_Color__c from User Where Id in :ownerIds]);