function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
CloudboxCloudbox 

Apex class and trigger help - On creating a new record

I am test designing a custom application and have it all configured nicely, but need some help with the code as I'm a spring newbie in this area.

I am very familiar with HTML etc and have recently been researching apex/java style syntax and structure and it's a very slow process.

I understand you need to have classes defined and then you can create trigger scripts and visualforce pages that interact with the classes.

I understand the class types and the basic concept of methods but the details here-in are where I am finding it hard to self teach myself - Let alone achieve my goal.

Should I be using IDE? How does one find the correct code operators and how to use them? Anyway I find myself typing in lines of code just guessing and realising I'm like a blind man feeling around in a room of buttons hoping I press the right one. I have done the fundamentals course and are trying to get my head around the cook book. But I'm getting into the hard code stuff now.

I would be grateful if someone could shine a torch around for me in my current goal before I go for a personal educational course on this. 

My Goal:

In a force.com custom app I have an Object (tab - arbitrarily called "Items") that creates an item as an auto number record (on clicking new button)

Then takes me to the create page where I specify the related contact / account and other info

I have a number field in this object and which also appears on the create page which is "Number of items"

Now the idea is that the information entered on the create page will look at the "Number of items" and then create identical records from the entered information, but with unique record entries in the database.