function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
DSchild-PTECDSchild-PTEC 

Trigger to send email to multiple contact lookups

Hi,
I am completely new to triggers and I'm hoping someone could provide me some sample code to show me how to do this.

I have a custom object with 4 contact lookup fields. On change of a field called Status I want to send an email to all 4 contacts and the record owner.

QA_Engineer__c

Release_Engineer__c

Release_Manager__c

Support_Engineer__c

Product_Release_Request__c

Thanks!

dmchengdmcheng

Have you looked in the new Force.com Workbook?  There's a section on triggers.  There's also a Dreamforce webcast "Force.com Code for Business Logic, Triggers, and Controllers"  The Apex Code Developer's Guide has a ton of reference material on triggers but it's hard to learn from that kind of format - not enough examples or explanations.

Also - have you considered creating a join object to link your custom object and Contacts instead of using separate contact lookup fields?  If you have to add more separate contact lookup fields in the future, you'd have to modify your trigger code, whereas with a join table, a select statement will always get all the contacts regardless of how many you have.

David

DSchild-PTECDSchild-PTEC

I'm not following what you mean by join object.

Andyeah, I've looked at the cookbooks and Dev site, but I'm still lost on this.

sfdcfoxsfdcfox

A "join" object links other objects together. For example, using "CustomToContact__c" as the object, you might have 3 fields:

Master-Detail(CustomObject)

Master-Detail(Contact)

Relationship(Picklist)

At that point, you can simply query this "join" object for all records that might be related, and handle it from there. Simpler queries, less coding, and greater versatility.

Scooter429Scooter429