function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
mjfroehlichmjfroehlich 

Calculating Days Served per Year

Please help! I'm new at this. I'm trying to calculate the number of days served in the year. My data fields are date/time but I'm only wanting to calculate the days. I have some that came in the previous year (2011) but I only want to count the days in 2012. I have others that came in 2012 and are still there so I only want to count them through 12/31/2012.There is a total of 4 possibilities.  Here is the formula that I have created but I keep getting Syntax errors. I'm trying to say if the Date Time In and Out fit the criteria then calculate it this way.

IF (DAY_ONLY() Date_Time_In__c < 2012-01-01 and Date_Time_Out__c <2012-12-31,  Date_Time_Out__c  -  2012-01-01  + 1,
(DAY_ONLY() Date_Time_In__c > 2012-01-01 and Date_Time_Out__c <2012-12-31, Date_Time_Out__c   - Date_Time_In__c  + 1,
(DAY_ONLY() Date_Time_In__c < 2012-01-01 and Date_Time_Out__c ISBLANK, 2012-12-31  2 - 012-01-01 + 1,
(DAY_ONLY() Date_Time_In__c > 2012-01-01 and Date_Time_Out__c ISBLANK, 2012-12-31  - Date_Time_In__c
))))

Is there an easier way to do this?

Thanks so much in advance for your help.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
MellowRenMellowRen

mjfroehlich

Wow. I deliberately wanted to avoid using a host of nested IF statements but thought never-the-less that this would be quite an easy formula to write. Instead it has captivated me as a puzzle for more than an hour—Salesforce’s treatment of DATETIME fields in formulas is quite restricting. This does what you need:

MAX(MIN(NULLVALUE(Date_Time_OUT__c, NOW()) - NOW(), DATE(2012,12,31) - TODAY()) - MAX(Date_Time_IN__c - NOW(), DATE(2012,1,1) - TODAY()) + 1,0)

By the way, DAY_ONLY() is an APEX function. You can use it when writing classes/triggers/etc but not in formulas.