function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
LyleDLyleD 

Possible to Build Model Number Field From Multiple Fields using CASE?

First off im very new to salesforce

Basically I want to build model number field based on 3 other fields (two of which are picklist). But it seems i can only use one case statement in the forumla field

Currently this works

---------------------------------

CASE( Color_Display__c,
"Tri Color", "LSS-TC",
"Full Color", "LSS-FC",
"Single Color", "LSS-SC","")

(oh also i dont know why i need the last comma and double quotes at the end of this case. If i leave it "Single Color", "LSS-SC") it gives me error when i check my syntax. It says, "Error: Incorrect number of parameters for function 'CASE()'. Expected 6, received 7" If anyone can explain that to me that would be great. But anyways the above works, i just would like to know why i need the last  ,""

So on with the question:

CASE( Color_Display__c,
"Tri Color", "LSS-TC",
"Full Color", "LSS-FC",
"Single Color", "LSS-SC","")

CASE(Software__c,
"Video Star", Model__c = Model__c & "VS-",
"Image Star", Model__c = Model__c &  "IS-","")

Model__c = Model__c & Pitch

Also i know it gives an error referencing its own self. This is how i build string in VB or any other programming language. How am i to do this in the formula field?

So at the end i just want the model field to read for example

LSS-TCVS-20

if the options Tri Color, Video Star and what ever numeric value is entered into pitch.

Thanks for any and all help in advance.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Shannon HaleShannon Hale

To address your first question: the format of the CASE() statement is as follows:

CASE(expression,value1, result1, value2, result2,..., else_result)