function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
rtuck2009rtuck2009 

Trigger Assistance Requested

Good day to those reading this.  I am an administrator by design with very little code experience.  Recently, we lost our developer and I am now responsible for taking this challenge on......okay, I will pause here and allow those playing the violin to finish.  :)

I am wanting to create a trigger, based off the information below:

When an Opportunity is created, it creates/converts to Stage=Intake. 

At this point, we wait for one of our Associates to schedule an Appointment for this Opportunity.  Appointment is a custom object (Appointment__c). 

The trigger I am needing assistance with is:

Opportunity stage=Intake and Opportunity field Initial_Appointment_Date__c is NULL. 

When a first appointment record is created and seen associated to the opportunity where the criteria above is true, then populate Initial_Appointment_Date__c with the date that first Appointment record was added and change the Opportunity stage to Scheduled.

Can anyone be so kind as to help me with this trigger?  Thank you in advance....

Robert

ahab1372ahab1372

Is  Appointment linked to the opportunity by Master-Detail or lookup relationship?

Then you can create a trigger on Appointment__c that queries the linked opportunity, and if the criteria are met, updates the opportunity. Could be an after create trigger

rtuck2009rtuck2009