function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
HBF SFDCHBF SFDC 

Easy Trigger to update Child record from Account

I'm new to APEX and I want to start simple.  Can somebody help me with a simple example of creating the following trigger

My Objects are the standard Account object and the Owner field, and a simply child record and a "Sales Rep" user lookup field.

Every time a new child record is created, I want the "Sales Rep" field to be populated with the same name as the "Account Owner" field on the Standard Account Object.

I try to do these kind of things with configuration, field formula, and/or workflows, but the above does not seem to be possible with SFDC out of the box.

Thanks for any help!

Aaron

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
aalbertaalbert

Here is some sample code:

trigger updateChildRecord on ChildRecord__c (before insert){

Map<Id,Account> accounts = new Map<Id,Account>{[select id, ownerid from Account where Id IN :trigger.new]};

for(ChildRecord__c child : trigger.new){
         if(child.Account__c != null){
	    child.Sales_Rep__c = accounts.get(child.Account__c).OwnerId;	
          }
    }	

} 

You also might need a trigger on Account that checks when the Owner changes to then sync that change with the child record.

All Answers

aalbertaalbert

Here is some sample code:

trigger updateChildRecord on ChildRecord__c (before insert){

Map<Id,Account> accounts = new Map<Id,Account>{[select id, ownerid from Account where Id IN :trigger.new]};

for(ChildRecord__c child : trigger.new){
         if(child.Account__c != null){
	    child.Sales_Rep__c = accounts.get(child.Account__c).OwnerId;	
          }
    }	

} 

You also might need a trigger on Account that checks when the Owner changes to then sync that change with the child record.

This was selected as the best answer
HBF SFDCHBF SFDC