function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
FranchisingGuruFranchisingGuru 

HELP: Update Multiple ContactRoles from Opportunity Trigger

I am a complete newbie to Apex triggers, but have semi-successfully completed a trigger that will initiate from an opportunity.  The trigger is supposed to retrieve the associated contact Ids by retrieving them from the OpportunityContactRole.  Once the contact(s) have been identified, I want to send an email to the contact and update a field within the contact. 

I have three main concerns/problems:

1. If there is more than one contact associated to an opportunity, only one contact is updated and sent an email
  2. Is there a way to limit emails to send only once, rather than every time an opportunity is edited and meets the criteria? Or will I have to upsert an opportunity field (i.e. - a checkbox indicating email sent) and make sure that if that field is checked, the trigger does not fire?
  3. Is this trigger "bulkified"?

I have copied the applicable code for my trigger in progress below.  Again, my main issue is when there is more than one contact associated to an opportunity:

trigger portalEmailSend on Opportunity (after update) {
for(Opportunity oppEmail : Trigger.new) {
        if(oppEmail.StageName == 'Qualified' && oppEmail.Account_Name_Copy__c == 'Something'  && oppEmail.Send_Auto_Discovery_Portal_Emails__c==True) {       
            List<OpportunityContactRole> theOppConRole = [SELECT Id, OpportunityId,
ContactId FROM OpportunityContactRole WHERE OpportunityId=:oppEmail.ID];
//get OpportunityContactRole ID from Opportunity that initiated trigger
            for (OpportunityContactRole contactRole:theOppConRole) {
// add OpportunityContactRole to the main OpportunityContactRole list
theOppConRole.add(contactRole);

if(contactRole.ContactId==NULL){

}