function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
david_navigator_david_navigator_ 

Rating a lead from info in a custom object (Google Adwords)

I'd like to create a field which rates a lead 1 thru 10 depending upon certain criteria.

99% of our leads come from our web to salesforce form and therefore one of the criteria is the search term the lead used in Google to find us.

This is in a custom object called Search_Phrase which has a field called search phrase, created by the Adwords to SalesForce app.

Although theoretically there could be many search phrases per lead, practically there is only one.

I was hoping that I could do something with some clever custom fields, but it seems that it's just not possible and so I assume some Apex is required. Although I am a developer with over 20 years experience, I've never written anything using apex and so I'm not sure what I need to do and thus any help would be good.

As a start I just want to do something simple such as (in pseudo code)

if search_phrase.searchphrase contains "mysoftware" then rating = rating + 1;

if search_phrase.searchphrase contains "crack" then rating = rating - 10;

return rating;

Many thanks

David

jkucerajkucera

A Search_Phrase__c trigger should do the trick. 

I have a lead scoring app that lets you score based on lead fields or campaign member fields so to save you some work, this approach might be quickest:

1) Create a custom field on Lead called SearchPhrase__c

2) Create a trigger on Search_Phrase__c that copies the latest search phrase for the lead to the custom field on lead

3) Install the lead scoring package

http://sites.force.com/appexchange/listingDetail?listingId=a0N300000024tT3EAI

4) Create rules that score leads based on search phrase