function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
ShmeeShmee 

Updating Google Calendar when an Object Record is Created

I have created a custom object called Service_Orders__c

The object contains data that I would like to automatically post to my google calendar.

When we create the record I would like it to update the google calendar.

I have been searching for hours to see if this has been addressed somewhere but I can't seem to find a discussion on it.

I figure that the following process would work.

1) Create an apex class that would retrieves an Authentication Token from Google. (I have seen the example of how to do this in a visualsource page but haven't done it in a apex class)

2) Use and apex trigger to get the token and use it to create a calendar even "after insert"

I am still really new to programming and the force.com platform so any ideas or direction would help.

Thanks

Brett

ForcecodeForcecode

Have you already seen the Google Calendar API project and the Google Data API Toolkit ?

http://wiki.developerforce.com/index.php/Google_Calendar_API

http://wiki.developerforce.com/index.php/Google_Data_APIs_Toolkit_Setup

I decided not to do this in a trigger, because you have to use the @future statment for the function that makes the callout to Google and inserts the data into the Google Calendar. Inside the trigger the function has to be @future, in a Visualforce page this is not required.

You cannot pass a List to this type of functions, only primitive data types. If you have more than one date, this will not work or you have to query for the data again in this function.

ShmeeShmee

Here is what I have done so far

1) uploaded all the Google Data Classes via Eclipse SVN (ie.. setup the toolkit)