function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
huskerwendyhuskerwendy 

Trigger Null Pointer Error

I'm new to Salesforce and Apex coding. I'm trying to create a trigger and am getting a null pointer error.

I have a custom object, VD_Documents, that has a lookup field to the Account object. I'm trying to update the Account Number field on the custom object with the Account Number field from the Account object when a VD_Document is inserted or updated.

I've found some code online that I'm trying to modify to work for me, but am receiving a null pointer exception. Here's my trigger code:

trigger UpdateAccountNumber on VD_Documents__c (before insert, before update) {
    // create a set of all the unique accounts
    List<id> accountIds = new List<id>();
    for (VD_Documents__c a : Trigger.new)
        accountIds.add(a.Account__r.id);   

// create a map for a lookup / hash table for the account info
    Map<id, Account> accounts = new Map<id, Account>([Select id, AccountNumber from Account Where Id in:accountIds]);  

// iterate over the list of records being processed in the trigger and set the AccountNumber
    for (VD_Documents__c a : Trigger.new)
        a.Account_Number__c = accounts.get(a.Account__r.Id).AccountNumber;
}

The error message is:

Error: Invalid Data.
Review all error messages below to correct your data.
Apex trigger UpdateAccountNumber caused an unexpected exception, contact your administrator: UpdateAccountNumber: execution of BeforeInsert caused by: System.NullPointerException: Attempt to de-reference a null object: Trigger.UpdateAccountNumber: line 12, column 61

I get the same error when I try to insert or update a record. I've also tried changing the trigger to After Insert and After Update. I would appreciate any help you can give me.

Thanks!

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers)