function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
knightknight 

Help with trigger--update parent object based on the data in child records

Hello

I am a newbie to triggers and was hoping that someone could help me with this ...Basically I am trying to update a field in my parent object whenever some updates/creates new child records. Below is what I have so far ( both parent and child are custom objects). To make it easier ...this would be like if I have an amount field on the account object and I need to copy the opty amount to this field on the account object. Basically the account amount field should be the sum of all the opty amount fields for the corresponding account ..

trigger License on License_Transfer__c (before update) {

List<DNB_Org__c> dnborgstoupdate = new List <DNB_Org__c>();
for(License_Transfer__c lct : System.Trigger.New) {
 if (lct.License_Type__c == 'UE'){
  DNB_Org__c dnborg = new DNB_Org__c (Id =lct.Holding_Org__c,Holding_Licenses_UE__c = lct.Licenses_to_Transfer__c);
  dnborgstoupdate.add(dnborg);
 }
}
update(dnborgstoupdate);
}

ScoobieScoobie

Have you considered making your custom objects have a Master-Detail relationship and using Roll-Up Summary Fields?

This would get rid of the need for any triggers

knightknight

we cannot use roll up summary for this particular requirement.it should be a trigger

ScoobieScoobie

In that case you may want to try selecting the parent record rather than creating a new object in memory and then trying to update it.

knightknight

sorry.. i am not sure if I get it.. can you please help ?

Jeremy.NottinghJeremy.Nottingh

First, it seems like you should have this Trigger run on insert and delete also, but I'm not sure.