function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SpunkySpunky 

Need help with insert child item trigger

I have limited (very) programming knowledge and need some help with a trigger so any assistance would be greatly appreciated. 

I have 2 custom objects which are part of a managed package(Docusign for salesforce).

How it works is you click "Send" from a Contact and it opens a new window called an envelope [dsfs__DocuSign_Envelope__c] which is a master object with the contact listed as a recipient  [dsfs__DocuSign_Envelope_Recipient__c] which is the child object

I would like to add an additional standard recipient every time "send" is launched. I did attempt to create a trigger which is listed below but this doesn't work. Please be gentle with your criticism as i'm humiliatated even posting it but here goes;

trigger dse on dsfs__DocuSign_Envelope_Recipient__c (after insert) {
    List<dsfs__DocuSign_Envelope_Recipient__c> dser = new List<dsfs__DocuSign_Envelope_Recipient__c>();
    //For each envelope processed by the trigger, add a new  recipient
    for (dsfs__DocuSign_Envelope_Recipient__c newdser: Trigger.New) {
            dser.add(new dsfs__DocuSign_Envelope_Recipient__c(
                        dsfs__DocuSign_Signer_Type__c ='Carbon Copy',
                        dsfs__DSER_ContactID__c = '003Q000000BhWpP'));
        }
}

Jeremy.NottinghJeremy.Nottingh

Well, what you've got seems like it would compile, which is a good start. You take the list of new recipients, and go through them and make a new recipient for each one, that's attached to a specific Contact. Here are my thoughts on your code as it stands:

1. You are not using any data from the trigger DSERs to make your new DSER. I would guess you wanted to carry some info from the "original" DSER to the copy.