function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
bozotheclownbozotheclown 

Counting Records and then Updating That Value to Different Object

Hello.  I am fairly new to Apex programming and have been trying to cobble together a solution via an earlier post, in addition to other ideas seen on this board.  That said, I am still having issues.  I would be very appreciative for any guidance.

Specifically, I have two custom objects - one each for customers (Customer__c) and deliveries (Deliveries__c).  I am trying to update a field (NumberOfDeliv__c) in the customers object to reflect the current number of deliveries that have a status of “pending” for each customer.  This value is derived by totaling the number of occurrences of “Deliveries__c” records for each customer that have a “DelivStatus__c” value of “pending”.  Due to a separate reason, I must do this update via Apex.

I am doing this in two phases. 1) Doing an AggregateResult function to total the number of pending deliveries for each customer…and then 2) Using a map to update the respective value for each customer. 

My initial problem is that I am getting an error message "Initial term of field expression must be a concrete SObject: MAP<Id,Customer__c>".

Any suggestions on why I am getting this error - or also alternate code ideas to arrive at my overall goal - would be very appreciated.  Thanks.

trigger CountCustomers on Deliveries__c (before insert) {

Map <String, Integer> DeliveryCount = new Map <String, Integer> ();

String DelivID = null;
    Integer nbr = null;

list<string> DelivList = new list<string>();
for (Deliveries__c dlv : Trigger.new){
if (dlv.DelivStatus__c != null)
DelivList.add(dlv.DelivStatus__c);
}

//Counting the occurrences of pending deliveries for each cusotmer (using CustomerID__c)