function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
iloilo 

Tracking Lead Status: Passed in Accounts

Hello all!

I have no experience with Apex codes or Triggers, so I do not know if what I am asking is more complex for the those Apex minded than I know of.

What I would like to do seems simple minded: To track all Leads with the Lead Status "Passed" as the custom field type 'Leads Passed to date' in Accounts.

If anyone is able to direct in how to achieve this, I would greatly appreciate it!

ilona *:) 

jkucerajkucera

How would you know which leads should be connected with which accounts?  Company or after lead convert?

If you use Lead Convert, you can create a custom formula field on Lead called something like Lead Status Copy with a formula of:

LeadStatus

Then you can map that field to an Account Custom Field called Lead Status so that when leads are converted, the account they are converted to gets that custom field.

If you are trying to use Lead.Company to figure out which Account and dont' want to wait until lead convert, you can create a trigger to update the first account whose name matches Lead.Company with Leads Passed Date.

However, I wouldn't advise any of this as if you have more than 1 lead per account, you'll continually overwrite this field on Account.

iloilo

Thanks John. 

My company does not use SF in the traditional manner. We are an outsourced BD company and cold call out of our leads to find opportunities for our clients (aka Accounts).

In efforts of tracking our performance for each account, I was hoping to find a way to automically update the numbers of Leads we pass (Lead Status: Passed), within a custom account field.

As many of our leads can be called into for different clients/accounts, we use 'Lead Record Type' to specify which account the lead is associated with.