function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
anu_karthianu_karthi 

System.QueryException: List has no rows for assignment to SObject:

Hi Every one,

I am new to write triggers.In my application 3 objects are there Obj A,Obj B,Obj C.

Obj A-SFN Number(Input field(text),Total Amount(Number))

Obj B-SFN Number(lookup(ObjA),Amount(Number))

Obj C-SFN Number(lookup(ObjA),Amount(Number))

Here i need to calculate sum of amount from Obj B and Obj C and assign the total value to Total Amount in

Obj A by using triggers.

Exception is raising as follows:

contact your administrator: chiranjeevi.summation: execution of BeforeInsert caused by: System.QueryException: List has no rows for assignment to SObject: Trigger.chiranjeevi.summation: line 4, column 96

My code is as follows:

trigger summation on chiranjeevi__Obj_A__c (before insert,before update) {
decimal ObjATotal,ObjBAmount,ObjCAmount;
for(chiranjeevi__Obj_A__c a : Trigger.new)
ObjBAmount=[Select Amount__c from chiranjeevi__Obj_B__c where SFN_Number__c =:a.SFN_Number__c].Amount__c;
for(chiranjeevi__Obj_A__c b : Trigger.new)
ObjBAmount=[Select Amount__c from chiranjeevi__Obj_C__c where SFN_Number__c =:b.SFN_Number__c].Amount__c;

for(chiranjeevi__Obj_A__c c : Trigger.new)
c.Total_Amount__c=ObjBAmount+ObjCAmount;
}

If any one knows plz help me.

Thanks & Regards,

Anu..

Nick34536345Nick34536345

ObjBAmount=[Select Amount__c from chiranjeevi__Obj_B__c where SFN_Number__c =:a.SFN_Number__c].Amount__c;

Hi,

Here you are assigning the result from a query to a single object - which is fine if you know there is always one record returned, but otherwise will throw the error you are seeing, You'll need to assign it to a list and then check that you have some records.

e.g.