function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
crob1212crob1212 

Help with Trigger to populate list of Dates

Hi All,

I am new to Apex programming and appreciate any help you can offer.  I have a parent object (Subject__c) which has children (Conditions__c).  The child object has a field called Start_Date__c, which is a Date field.  I want a trigger that will go get the start  date for each Condition and put them in a field on the Subject called Date_s_Of_Injury__c, with each value separated by a semicolon. So, for example, if there were three child records with the Start Dates of 07/01/2001, 10/12/2002 and 12/12/2007, the field on the parent object would look something like this:  Date(s) Of Injury:  07/01/2001; 10/12/2002; 12/12/2007.   I have figured out the code to update the field on the parent if there is only one Start Date.  But I don't know how to go grab multiple start dates.  Here is the code that will add singular dates of service:

trigger UpdateDateOfInjury on Condition__c (after insert) 

{

List<id> subIds = new List<id>();

for(Condition__c cd: Trigger.new)
  { 
    if (cd.Start_Date_Alleged__c != NULL)  
    {
      subIds.add(cd.Subject__c);
    }

system.debug('Check Ids added:' + subIds.size());

List<Subject__c> subjects = [SELECT Id FROM Subject__c WHERE Id IN :subIds];

system.debug('Check How Many Subjects retrieved:' + subjects.size());

for (Subject__c s: subjects) 
    {
      s.Date_s_of_Injury__c = s.Date_s_of_Injury__c = cd.Start_Date_Alleged__c ;
    }

update subjects;
  }  

}

By the way, the field on the parent object is a date field.  I tried to make it a text field but got an error b/c I couldn't make a date populate in a text field.

Any ideas?

Thanks a million. 

SPDSPD