function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
MickleMickle 

Apex Trigger to update lookup field, need help

Alright, I have very little experience coding with Apex (or any other programming language for that matter), however I am generally alright at modifying code. However, there is an area I am having trouble with, and even though I know a lot of people have had a very similar problem, I cannot seem to fix this.

I have a custom object created, that I am trying to link to the Lead object, using a lookup field. I have it set up perfectly manually, however I want to automatic this process using Apex, I get an error message.

Lead Object Fields:
PostalCode 
ACZipCode API Name:ACZipCode__c Type: Lookup(ACZipCode)

Custom Object ACZipCode fields API Name: ACZipCode__c

ZipCode

API Name:ZipCode__c

Type:Text(5)

Apex Trigger needing work:

trigger GetZipCode on Lead (after insert, after update) {
for (Lead a : Trigger.new) {a.ACZipCode__c = a.PostalCode; }}

Error message:

Review all error messages below to correct your data.
Apex trigger GetZipCode caused an unexpected exception, contact your administrator: GetZipCode: execution of AfterUpdate caused by: System.StringException: Invalid id: 43225: Trigger.GetZipCode: line 2, column 29

I believe what it is doing is passing the raw zipcode number though, when it really needs the ACZipCode ID number. I just don't know how to fix this. Again, everything works perfectly if I disable the Apex trigger, and just manually type in the 5 digit zipcode (I'm guessing it does the lookup behind the scenes).

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

ngabraningabrani

If you look at this statement -

a.ACZipCode__c = a.PostalCode;