function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
MaidyMaidy 

Help with Implementing Triggers

Hi,

I am new at using triggers but it seems its the only way I can populate Account custom fields with information from the User object.

I have successfully saved the following trigger in Sandbox and it doesn't seem to update my 2 custom fields. Appreciate the help.

Also, I have learned that to deploy this in our production I will need Eclipse which will require some test case to run. Will the test method have to be on a separate file? If yes, how do I associate them to make sure that the test method is run with the right trigger? Many thanks for the anticipated assistance.

trigger updateOwnerProfile on Account (before insert, before update) {
  Set<Id> AcctOwnerId = new Set<Id>();
  for (Account a:Trigger.new)
    AcctOwnerId.add(a.ownerid); 

Map<Id,User> OwnerProfile = new Map<Id,User>(
    [SELECT id, title, phone FROM user 
     WHERE id = :AcctOwnerId]);

for (Account a:Trigger.new)  
    if(String.valueOf(a.ownerid).substring(0,3)=='00G'){
      a.Account_Owner_Title__c = OwnerProfile.get(a.ownerid).title;
      a.Account_Owner_Phone__c = OwnerProfile.get(a.ownerid).phone;
    }   
}

ngabraningabrani

To test the Trigger, save an Account object. If it is not behaving as expected, the put some System.debugs in the Apex code, and then view the Debug log.

The test case needs to be writter in a separate Apex class. You will save an Account in the test case, so the Trigger will automatically get called. You will be able to run the test case by clicking on the Run Test button.

You will need to deploy the Trigger and the test case to production. This may be done through the Force.com IDE or by using the Salesforce native user interface.

MaidyMaidy

Hi, 

Thanks for the correction. The trigger is now working in our sandbox.