function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BusyBoyBusyBoy 

Apex Classes/ Triggers on Developer Edition

I am new to SFDC. I am using Developer Edition. My friends told me that i can create apex classes and triggers in the Developer Edition. But somehow when i login to DE and go to develop->apex triggers, i dont see the "new" button to create a trigger. What i am doing now is create a sandbox out of the DE and creating triggers there. So is there somethign i am missing? do i need to change any config settings to enable apex triggers in DE?

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Tom DJTom DJ

I just checked my Develepor Edition and you are right.  I don't see a way to create one using the online pages.  Strange.

I have been creating my Triggers using the force IDE, which is Eclipse with a Salesforce plugin.  From within the IDE you just click on "File->New->Apex Trigger".

This page talks about the IDE and has a link to a page for installing it.

http://wiki.developerforce.com/index.php/Force.com_IDE

Tom

All Answers

BomanBoman

Create in SB, deploy to Production.

BusyBoyBusyBoy

Even in Developer Edition ?

Tom DJTom DJ

I just checked my Develepor Edition and you are right.  I don't see a way to create one using the online pages.  Strange.

I have been creating my Triggers using the force IDE, which is Eclipse with a Salesforce plugin.  From within the IDE you just click on "File->New->Apex Trigger".

This page talks about the IDE and has a link to a page for installing it.

http://wiki.developerforce.com/index.php/Force.com_IDE

Tom

This was selected as the best answer
Tom DJTom DJ

I forgot to mention.  In the Developer Edition you can create triggers using the eclipse IDE without using a sandbox.

BusyBoyBusyBoy