function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
PatcsPatcs 

how to import attachments using dataloader?

I am new to this data migration section.

I am using two different developer edition.

when I try to export the attachments from one developer login, it is exported.
when I try to import that attachments in to another developer login, it showing an error.

if any body knows please let me know.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Jeff TalbotJeff Talbot

Sorry that link didn't work. Here's the full text from the help page:

Knowledge Article Number: 95779

Description

How do I import attachments using my Data Export files?

Resolution
  1. Create an attachments.csv file (the name of the file is unimportant) with the following column headers:
    • ParentId - ID of the record to which the attachment should be associated 
    • Name - Name of the attachment 
    • ContentType - Format of the extension (e.g. .xls, .pdf, etc) 
    • OwnerID - ID for the owner of the attachment
    • Body - File path to the Attachment on the local machine (C:\documents and settings\schun\desktop\attachments\file.xls)
  2. Log in to the Data Loader. 
  3. Select the "Insert" command. 
  4. In the 'Select Sforce Object' step, select the 'Show all Sforce Objects' checkbox and then select "Attachments". 
  5. Choose the attachments.csv file. 
  6. In the mapping step, map the following fields:
    • Parent ID 
    • Name 
    • Owner ID 
    • Body - Make sure to map the Body column which you created previously with the file extension. This is how you designate the file and location of the attachments to be inserted. 
  7. Click "OK" to proceed with the insert. It may take a few minutes but the attachments should be successfully uploaded to your salesforce org.

Hope that helps!

All Answers

kxa422kxa422

What kind of error ?