function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Riz234Riz234 

Opportunity viewing by other departments

I have a picklist "Department" in Opportunity; If user select one department (eg: Networking) and put amount then save the opportunity, then that opportunity should be viewed only by Networking dept. If the user select GIS dept, then only GIS dept employyes should view this opportunity. How I can do this please ? I have created roles and profiles, fyi.

Please call me +966502486073 or give me your number so that i can call and find the solution. Need urgent help on this please. my email shaik.rizwan@mis.com.sa; I am new to salesforce.

Appreciate early response

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Hargobind_SinghHargobind_Singh

Hi,

Since you have already created roles, you should go to sharing rules and define sharing rules. Salesforce has recently updated the sharing rules so that you can create sharing rules based on formulae on fields. 

1. Make Opportunity as private

2. Create one sharing rule each for your conditions.

All Answers

Afzal MohammadAfzal Mohammad

I suggest you to use record types and page layouts for each department.

More info on record types go to

http://www.salesforce.com/community/crm-best-practices/administrators/customization/advanced-customization/tips-record-types.jsp

Hope that helps.

Afzal

Hi,

Since you have already created roles, you should go to sharing rules and define sharing rules. Salesforce has recently updated the sharing rules so that you can create sharing rules based on formulae on fields. 

1. Make Opportunity as private

2. Create one sharing rule each for your conditions.

This was selected as the best answer
Riz234Riz234

Hi hs1,