function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
venkataccvenkatacc 

SSO Implementation for portal user

Hi , I'm very new to SSO implementation can anyone help me in finding solution for the below listed question. 1)Can I support Multiple Federated IDP for customer portal users? If yes, then what certificates are required in the SAML enabled window on Salesforce? i. Seems that the answer is Yes. But no one is confirming this. Especially the question around certificates to be uploaded in SAML configuration window in salesforce. 2)Can I support SAML and non-SAML (non-SSO) enabled users together for my customer portal? Seems the answer is Yes with the assumption that if a user does not have the federated-Id text box filled in then he is a normal user else he is a SSO user with that federated id. But we don’t read any documentation on this. 3)Any tools in the market which do automatic user provisioning for SSO SAML users? (I.e. I get a valid SAML assertion from an IDP but the user is a new user i.e. not configured in Salesforce yet. Then can I setup something which will automatically create that portal user in salesforce?). 4)When an SSO user is marked Inactive then how do I stop a user from logging into the portal? i. Again seems an obvious thing. But we need confirmation for a SAML request (especially IDP initiated).
chuckmortimorechuckmortimore

1) Currently we only support a single federation configuraiton per Salesforce org.

2) Yes - SAML is optional ( although there are ways to force everyone to use SAML if you want )

3) Ping Identity currentl supports this.   In the Summer 11 Release we'll be supporting provisioning platform/crm/chatter users directly over SAML.    Provisioning of Portal users over SAML is tenatively planned for the Winter release