function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
V1nitV1nit 

Cross Object Trigger to update a field

I am fairly new to apex.

I have two custom objects Obj1__c and Obj2__c. These two are related objects.

I have a field Status__c on Obj1__c which is a picklist with 5 values and I also have a field Status__c on Obj2__c which is a picklist again with 5 values.

Now, my question is, When the Status__c on Obj1__c is set to value4 or value5 then, I need to change the value of Status__c on Obj2 to value4 or value5 respectively. How can I do that using triggers? Any ideas?

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
b-Forceb-Force

try this one

trigger updateRR on Opportunity__c(after update)
{
	try
	{	
		List<Resource_Request__c> lstRR=[Select r.Id,r.Status__c, r.Opportunity__c from  Resource_Request__c r where r.Opportunity__c in : Trigger.newMap.keyset()];
		for(Resource_Request__c objRR : lstRR)
		{
			if(Trigger.newMap.containskey(objRR.Opportunity__c) && ( Trigger.newMap.get(objRR.Opportunity__c).status__c == 'Withdrawn'|| Trigger.newMap.get(objRR.Opportunity__c).status__c == 'On Hold'))
			objRR.Status__c=Trigger.newMap.get(objRR.Opportunity__c).status__c;
		}
		update lstRR;
	}catch(Exception ex)
	{
		Trigger.new[0].addError('Error in resource request updates --'+ ex.getMessage());
	}
}

Thanks,

B

All Answers

b-Forceb-Force

Hi,

you need to build trigger when you are trying to update fields from related object.

If you come up with API name of object and fields of objects , We can help you to build trigger code.

Thanks

Bala

V1nitV1nit

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Opportunity__c is my main object and Resource_Request__c is a related list under the Opportunity__c object.