function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
NPanterNPanter 

Absolute newbie - help with simple Apex trigger

Hello all,

While I have tonnes of experience with salesforce, my apex previously has been asking my developer.  Thought I would try a simple trigger, or what I thought would be a simple trigger.  Basically, this is what I want it to do:

On Cases there is a field called Case_Survey_Sent_Date__c 

On Contacts there is a field called Case_Survey_Sent_Date__c 

After the case is saved, I would like to check if the case.Case_Survey_Sent_Date__c is more recent then the contact.Case_Survey_Sent_Date__c and if so, update it.  This is what i have come up with, and lo and behold I am sucking it huge.  Here is what I have so far:

trigger updateAccountSurveyDate on Case (after update) {

Case c;
     for (Contact p = [SELECT id, Case_Survey_Sent_Date__c FROM Contact])
     {
          if (p.Case_Survey_Sent_Date__c < c.Case_Survey_Sent_Date__c){
              p.Case_Survey_Sent_Date__c = c.Case_Survey_Sent_Date__c;
          } else {
               //
          }      
     }
}  

Now, take a few minutes to compose yourself after the fits of laughter of what I have done...would any of you gurus be able to point me in the error of my ways, or even give me a little to go on?

Thanks all,

Nik :smileyhappy:

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
David SchachDavid Schach

Here's how I would do it.  Note that you are evaluating Case and updating Contact - so you need to do two separate groups of actions.  First you compare dates and figure out which Contacts need to be updated.  Then you query those Contacts and do what you must to them.

map<id, Date> Contact_Date_map = new map<id, Date>();